Accessibility Accreditation for Moodle

Accreditation Level:
Date Accreditation issued:

Moodle accreditation badge

Digital Accessibility Conformance Evaluation

A technical evaluation of 20 pages was conducted. The pages selected constitute an accessibility audit of the website. These pages were selected by Web Key IT and agreed on by the client as representative of the overall accessibility and functionality of the website.

The evaluation was completed in accordance with the WCAG Evaluation Methodology (WCAG-EM) which can be viewed at

The pages were audited manually and cross-checked using a team of website evaluators to ensure that the results and comments presented are valid and comprehensive.

A separate and external testing of these pages has been conducted by a group of trained testers, all with disabilities. All items that related to WCAG 2.1 level AA compliance have been remediated and as many of the usability issues as practical and within scope have also been addressed.

Accessibility support baseline

Website/Application Tested:
Moodle LMS
Date Tested:
13 Jan - 10 Nov 2020
Scope of test:
20 pages selected as a representation of the website in accordance with the W3C WCAG Evaluation Methodology (WCAG-EM
Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.1 at
Conformance Level satisfied:
WCAG 2.1 to Level AA
Technologies relied on:
Primary Browser/s:
Google Chrome 86, Internet Explorer 11
Secondary Browser/s:
Firefox 82
Number of pages evaluated:
Valid from:

Remaining Issues and Exceptions

Whilst Moodle Australia has gone to great lengths to make all of its online content AA accessible, there are some aspects on this website, including some third-party content, which Moodle do not currently have the ability to bring into conformance with WCAG 2.1 to Level AA. 

These include: 

  • Parsing Errors
  • Orphaned form labels and broken ARIA references related to a bug in the HTML generated by a third-party library
  • In Internet Explorer alone some drop down items are triggered when a pointer selects the element rather than when it is lifted. This issue does not occur in Chrome or Firefox.

Certificate of Web Key IT Pty Ltd Accreditation

Certification Number:

This website has been evaluated through a rigid manual process of technical audit of all of the sample pages against WCAG 2.1 to Level AA and meets the requirements of WCAG 2.1 to Level AA.

The website has also been evaluated by the Web Key IT Pty Ltd team of users with disabilities to ensure that none of the user journeys selected posed an issue for these testers/disabilities.

Other Standards

WCAG 2.1 also forms the content of the ISO Standard ISO: IEC 40500:2012 which can be located at

The content of WCAG forms the standard for digital accessibility compliance in EN 301549 and AS EN 301549 “Accessibility requirements suitable for public procurement of ICT products and services in Europe” which has been adopted in Australia as AS EN 302549. This standard includes:

  • web content
  • electronic documents
  • non-web software, such as native mobile apps

Information can be found at and